Home » Career Guidance » ITIL V3 Vs. V4 Certifications

ITIL V3 Vs. V4 Certifications


The Information Technology Infrastructure Library or in simple words, ITIL is an integrated set of the finest practice processes for delivering IT services to businesses. The principal idea is to provide values through business-aligned IT services. Also, ITIL from AXELOS has its versions of upgrading their basic idea with market-aligned themes and knowledge. The well-known versions of ITIL are the third(V3) and the fourth(V4). Knowing what ITIL means and how it helps the businesses, there is a key element to learn about ITIL is that it has certain levels involved in it. It consists of 5 levels of ITIL V3 certification, namely.

  1. ITIL Foundation
  2. ITIL Practitioner
  3. ITIL Intermediate Certifications
  4. ITIL Expert Certification
  5. ITIL Master

And the levels involved in ITIL V4 certification are

  1. Foundation Certification
  2. Managing Professional (ITIL MP)
  3. Strategic Leader
  4. Master

Differences between ITIL V3 and V4?

As mentioned, ITIL upgrades its knowledge from version to version. To understand the updated methodologies, it is important to decipher the differences between them.

A. The base-components:

  • ITIL V3: It is designed and based on 5 components
  1. Service Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operation
  5. Continuous Service Improvement
  • ITIL V4: Version 4 of ITIL has its base on 2 key components, namely
  1. The four dimension model
  2. The service value system(SVS)

The Four Dimension Model:

ITIL 4 says the following four dimensions should be considered to achieve a holistic approach to service management:

  1. Organizations and people
  2. Information and technology
  3. Partner and suppliers
  4. Value streams and processes

Service Value System:

The Service Value System (SVS) defines effective ways of carrying out the operational procedure of inputs, process practices and outputs. The ITIL 4 includes elements:

  1. Guiding principles
  2. Governance
  3. Service Value Chain
  4. Practices
  5. Continual Development

ITIL 4 states, “The ITIL SVS represents how the various components and activities of the organization work together to facilitate value creation through IT-enabled services.”

B. Applied ways:

ITIL 4 states that organizations should tailor-make their working processes and methodologies on their own, in-line with their specific needs and requirements. Thus, organizations should define their processes as an important part of their operating models as per ITIL 4. This enables the organization to work on efficiency from a broader perspective.

Organizations which lookout for a detailed version of process descriptions will be beneficial opting for ITIL V3. As per AXELOS, ITIL 4 does not invalidate any earlier versions of ITIL, hence ITIL V3 is still valid guidance.

C. Core ideas of V3 and V4:

Though the central idea of both the versions is the same, the major distinction observed in V4 from V3 is the inclusion of additional best practices and new integration. ITIL V4 mainly focuses on concepts like costs, outcomes, risk and value.


To sum up, ITIL V4 is an improved version of ITIL V3, with changes effective in corporate work culture enhancing teamwork and communication, incorporating IT into business processes.

Looking for any ITIL certification? Get certified with SKILLOGIC

About Skillogic Team


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By continuing to browse or by clicking 'Accept', you agree to the storing of first- and third-party cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy

Welcoem to new